To control access to a course and its modules, you should understand the difference between public/private and ownership. You can change the access settings by selecting a course or module and then pressing the Edit button in the top right.
Both courses and modules need to have their access settings set.
The ownership field indicates who is able to make administrative changes. In the case of a module, it also indicates who can add, edit and remove project units.
- If you select My account, the default, then only you can make changes.
- If you select an organization, by default any teacher within your organization will be able to make changes. If you wish to restrict access to specific teachers, see restrict teacher access
If you wish to prevent access to other teachers within your organization, then you would select My account and would also make it private. However, if you were to leave the organization, then no-one would be able to access and manage the course content. As a result, you would change the ownership to the organization in order to ensure that others are able to continue its management.
Important: if you change the ownership of the course or module to an organization, then it will not longer appear in the My Courses list. You will find it in the Organizations list instead.
Public and private
This field indicates who is able to view and access courses and modules. If public, then any student or teacher can find and view courses. If private, then visibility is determined by the ownership setting:
- If ownership is is set to My account, the default, then you can find the course or module and only you will be able to assign a module to a class.
- If ownership is set to an organization, then any teacher or student within your organization will be able to find the course. Any teacher within the organization will be able to assign a course module to a class.
Public course and private modules and vice-versa
If you have different access settings for the course and its modules, then you should make sure you understand the effects of the ownership and public/private settings.
Generally speaking, you would set your modules and course with the same access settings. If you have a public course and private modules, then although users can find the course, it will appear as if there are no modules present if they are set to be private. If a module is private but organization owned, then they will appear normally to organization members.