How are courses organised?
Codio offers a 3 level hierarchy for organising and publishing course materials.
- A Course is the top level and consists of a collection of Modules.
- A Module will typically incorporate all the course materials to cover a logical area of a curriculum or coursework. It in turn consists of a collection of Units.
- A Unit is the lowest level item of coursework. It will typically contain enough material to cover a particular topic or area of a curriculum or coursework. A Unit is taken directly from a Codio project.
Take a look at the Recommended Content and open a Course to see its associated Modules and, within each Module, the Units.
Authoring your own content
Direct Access vs. Classes
Having set your permissions, you should be aware of the two main ways others can then access the content.
- A student can access the Courses/Modules from the dashboard and press the Start Unit button having selected a Module.
- A teacher can create a Class and then assign a Module to that Class. Students can then access the Class from the Dashboard and access assigned Modules and their Units from there.
Generally speaking, class based scenarios should use the Class feature to save the student from having to search for the Course/Module.
A module is a collection of units (the actual teaching content). Courses have at least one module and most have several modules.
If you select a modules, you will be shown all the units that make up that module. You can add new units to a module from this screen.
A unit is the actual teaching content. You can edit the descriptions as well as refresh the unit from its original source project.
How Units are published and updated
When an author publishes a Unit, a copy of the source project is made and stored separately in the Codio platform. Any subsequent changes to the source project will not be seen, so it is safe to make changes without concern for how these changes will affect students who are already working on a Unit.
When you have finished updating the source project and are ready to update the unit, you should find your unit in its parent module, press the edit units slider and then press refresh Source.
It could happen that a student starts on a Unit and afterwards the Unit’s author updates the content. You should be aware that the student will not see any changes
- while the author is updating the source project from which the Unit was taken
- if the Unit is subsequently updated from its source project. In order for the student to see the modified unit, the student’s unit project should first be deleted and then the Unit restarted. The drawback to this is that any assessments taken and the associated data is lost.